Since 2002, the Outdoor Hall of Fame has recognized Illinoisans for significant contributions and unparalleled dedication in preserving, promoting, enhancing or supporting natural resources and outdoor recreation opportunities.

Past inductees have records of exemplary service to conservation in Illinois, with efforts that include:

  • Encouraging thousands of youth and adults in the activities of fishing, hunting, conservation and safety education
  • Preserving or enhancing fish and wildlife habitat or protecting and restoring lakes and rivers
  • Advocating for outdoor heritage traditions and much more!

Outdoor Hall of Fame inductees are honored each year at the annual Hall of Fame Gala, a fundraiser hosted by the Illinois Conservation Foundation to support our annual Scholarship Achievement Program and programs at the Torstenson Youth Conservation Education Center.

To nominate an individual for the Outdoor Hall of Fame, complete the official Hall of Fame Nomination Form and submit it to the Illinois Conservation Foundation. Nominations are accepted year-round. For the nominee to be considered for this year's Hall of Fame class, applications must be received by July 15th.




Class of 2023

Deanna Bazan, Plano
David Monk, Champaign
Peter M. Murphy, Springfield
Ed Pfaff, Plano
Gretchen Steele, Coulterville

Class of 2022

Doug Aller, Berwyn
Nan Buckardt, Libertyville
Eileen Rice, Des Plaines

Class of 2021

John Burke, Jr., Bartelso
Betty DeFord, Bath
Brian Drendel, Geneva

Class of 2020

Jim Smith, Morris
Bob Wilkins, Shorewood
Mike Conlin, Auburn

Class of 2019

Diane and Doug Oberhelman, Edwards

Class of 2018

Diane Banta, Chicago
Sylvan (Jerry) Beverlin, Petersburg
David F. Grohne, Wilmington
Sam Oliver, Barrington
Steve Widowski, Vienna

Class of 2017

Bob Becker
David Nelson, Barrington
Mick Wanless, Springfield
Glenda Zanders, Evansville

Class of 2016

James Grandt, Arlington Heights
Lewis (Jim) Scheer, La Grange
Les Winkeler, Harrisburg

Class of 2015

Elizabeth Bramsen, Barrington
Fred Keck, Vandalia
Chad Pregracke, East Moline

Class of 2014

Paul Kelley, Hudson
Dan Basore, Warrenville
Charlie Potter, Lake Forest

Class of 2013

Marcia and Ken Polhamus, Galena

Class of 2012

Philip ‘Chauncey’ Niziol, Westchester
Casimir ‘Cass’ Sliwa, Chicago
Warren Gale, Orion
Allie Lymenstull, Quincy

Class of 2011

Dr. Thomas Dunstan, Macomb
Dr. David Kenney, O’Fallon, MO
Bob Long, Jr., Chicago
Ed Mullady, Kankakee

Class of 2010

Alfred Hayden, Dahinda
John “Jack” Jadel, Wilmette
Denny Sands, Shabbona
Mary Jo Trimble Carterville;

Class of 2009

William H. Guerrini, Spring Valley
Don Hankla, Anna
Dwight Hoffard, Johnston City
Dr. George B. Rabb, Brookfield

Class of 2008

Don Durbin, Lincolnwood
George B. Fell, Rockford
John R. “Duke” O’Malley,
Chicago’s Clearing/Garfield Ridge community

Class of 2007

Carl Becker, Petersburg
Jared Garver, Cobden
John Kidd, Jr., Crete
Glen C. Sanderson, Champaign

Class of 2006

Ralph Frese, Niles
Don Swensson, Moline
Robert Torstenson, Pecatonica

Class of 2005

Kenneth V. Fiske, Woodstock
Dr. W.D. Klimstra, Carbondale
G. Brent Manning, Wheaton
William L. Rutherford, Sr., Peoria

Class of 2004

Gaylord and Dorothy Donnelly, Libertyville
Bonnie Jo Fee, Kinderhook
J.R. Black, Kankakee
Floyd (Jake) Kringer, Vandalia

Class of 2003

Henry Barkhausen, Lake Forest
Bill Cullerton, Sr., Oak Brook
Jim Edgar, Mahomet

Class of 2002

Charter Members
Frank Bellrose
Jack Ehresman, Hanna City
James Helfrich
John Husar, Willow Springs
Gene Morgan, Sesser